Rattlers women's golf brings home a silver medal at the 2018 PING CCAA Golf National Championships

MHC Rattlers Golf Team_18-19
MHC Rattlers Golf Team

On the final day of competition at the 2018 PING CCAA Golf National Championships hosted by Medicine Hat College, four national champions were crowned.  The Red Deer Queens were the first ACAC school ever to win a golf national championship.  On the men's side the Boomerang d'Andre-Laurendeau secured a nine stroke victory to raise a championship banner.  Individually, Emily Romancew from the John Abbott Islanders and Laurent Desmarchais from Andre-Laurendeau won their respective individual titles.

The women's team event was dominated by the ACAC.  Red Deer College pulled away from the field with a four day total of 625 to claim a gold medal.  The host Medicine Hat College Rattlers fired a four day total of 641 to earn the silver medal and the bronze medal went to the UBC Okanagan Heat who had a four day score of 666.

In men's action, the Boomerang d'Andre-Laurendeau had a dominating performance on the way to a National title.  Their four day total of 1138 was 14 under par and placed them 9 strokes ahead of silver medalists Humber College who had a four day total of 1147.  The bronze medal went to the UFV Cascades who finished tied with Champlain St. Lawrence but won the bronze on a count back.  Both teams closed with four day scores of 1171.

Emily Romancew, from John Abbott College, led the women's individual race from wire to wire.  Her final total of 298 left her 6 strokes ahead of runner-up Shaye Leidenius from Red Deer College.  Alyssa Stoddart from the Fanshawe Falcons shot a four day total of 305 to claim the bronze medal.

In men's individual action, Laurent Desmarchais from Cegep Andre-Laurendeau shot an amzing 13 under par over four days to win gold.  Conner Watt had a solid four days and earned the silver medal with a four day total 8 under par 280.  Desmarchais' teammate Olivier Menard took home the bronze with a four day score of 7 under par 281.

Tournament all-stars were also named today at tournament's end.  The ladies award winners were Emily Romancew from John Abbott College, Shaye Leidenius from Red Deer College and Alyssa Stoddart from Fanshawe College.  The men were represented by Laurent Desmarchais, Olivier Menard and Philip Isabelle from Cegep Andre-Laurendeau along with Conner Watt from Humber College and Daniel Campbell from University of the Fraser Valley.

Exemplary leadership awards, given out to the athlete(s) who upholds the highest integrity of the game and who shows leadership and fair play both on and off the course, were given to Nicole Schultz of the host Medicine Hat Rattlers and Brad Bryers of the Fanshawe Falcons.

On the last day of competition, our male athlete of the day was Kyle Claggett from the University of the Fraser Valley Cascades.  Kyle was personable and polite throughout the week and always had a smile for everyone he spoke to.

The female athlete of the day was Alyssa Stoddart from Fanshawe College.  Alyssa was a strong competitor all week and her third round 69 was the tournament low on the ladies side.  Alyssa was always friendly and supported her teammates and the other golfers throughout the week.

Our final team of the day was awarded to the UBC Okanagan Heat.  The ladies were always great to be around.  They could always be seen smiling and were friendly to everyone.  They battled hard each day and were rewarded with a bronze medal.